Comma Butterfly (Polygonia c-album)

The jagged wings on this make the species a lot more interesting. I assume it contributes to camouflage by making it look more leaf-like. There are always butterflies on the butterfly bush in my parent’s backgarden and this is just one of the species. I have also seen Small Tortoiseshell and both Small and Large White butterflies. The Tortoiseshells are too paranoid and I can’t get close enough for a photo. The white butterflies never come out very well on my camera. I use a Sony DSC-HX20V, so it’s never going to show the most professional looking shots, but I should be able to manage some photos of a white butterfly, surely?! The main problem I have seems to be that it cannot focus on the butterfly, so it just comes out as a white blur. I don’t know if I need to change the exposure? Let me know if you have any tips to stop that happening!

About TomPh1991

Interested in wildlife and photography: https://amateurwildlife.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Insects. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

